Uckfield, South Of The River
25th January to 1st February
Open – 10-00am to 3-00pm each day (closed Sunday 26th January)
Entry is free. Refreshments available on the two Saturdays.
2 booklets will be available – one giving fascinating additional information on the growth of the Framfield Road/Newtown area, the other about the coming of the railway to Uckfield.
Models of early Uckfield railway engines will be on display
Children’s quiz available on the Saturdays
For further information about the the exhibition, you are welcome to contact us, using the details below.
- Jeff Holman – 01825 761145
- Mobile – 07971 059714
- Bridge Cottage – 01825 760734
Bridge Cottage Heritage Centre is a 15th Century Medieval Wealden Hall house of above average construction situated in the heart of Uckfield, East Sussex. In 1983 the building was saved from demolition by the Uckfield & District Preservation Society and Uckfield Town Council. Thanks to a grant in 2016 from The Heritage Lottery Fund, it has now been extensively restored and today looks much as it would have done in the early 1600s. There have been many changes, the most noticeable of which is the addition of a new section above the lean-to extension at the northern end, re-establishing the original Wealden house appearance. In addition the restoration has enhanced the sustainability credentials of the original building by the inclusion of underfloor heating driven by a Ground Sourced Heat Pump, sheeps wool insulation and LED lighting throughout – all sympathetically incorporated in an historic environment.
During recent archaeological excavations, a hearth from a pre-1436 building was discovered; evidence that a building has stood at this site for many centuries.